The American Dream

David Rory O'Neill

We recently returned from a much anticipated three week trip to Virginia and New York City. I’ve tried to do a blog post about it since we came home but found I could not do it. This is my very emotional response to both the trip and my reactions since. I make no apology but there are powerful sentiments here and I hope my US readers will be as generous as their natures usually are and see these words are written with love and concern.

Thomas Jefferson and I. Thomas Jefferson and I.

These feelings first rose in me as I stood beside a life size Thomas Jefferson at his historic home, Monticello, near our base at Charlottesville.

The American Dream.

We dreamed of John Wayne tall, James Stewart laconic, Gregory Peck noble in iconic places.

Places filmed by Hollywood factory dream makers. Dreams of cowboys and Indians and Sitting Bull Custer battles won by the…

View original post 969 more words

One response

  1. Thanks for the repost Marcia.

    June 3, 2014 at 7:47 am

Leave a Reply

